Emeritus Richard & Chair Janet on Parade

The Community Council Board of Governors consists of -

  • The Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary, who are elected by the Board, and serve one year terms beginning on July 1st.  The names of former Community Council Chairs may be found at the bottom of this page.

  • The Chair Emeritus

  • A representative from each of eight geographical areas of the Palisades, who are elected by the area residents, and serve for two years beginning on October 1st of even years. Area boundaries are defined below.

  • An Elected At-Large Representative

  • Representatives of various community organizations, such as the Chamber of Commerce, Temescal Canyon Association, and Theatre Palisades. These representatives serve a one year term beginning on October 1st.

  • Non-voting Advisors

The procedures used to determine Board membership, duties of officers, voting rules, quorum requirements, etc. may be found on the "Bylaws" page of this site.

Members of the Board are listed below with a means to contact each of them. You are encouraged to bring your community concerns to their attention.

All phone numbers shown are in area 310.

Officers and Chair Emeritus

Chair Janet Turner 496.9896 PacPaliCC@aol.com
Vice Chair Haldis Toppel 454.8060 hrtoppel@aol.com
Chair Emeritus Richard G. Cohen 443.0519 rgcohen@aol.com
Secretary Cathy Russell 459.5535 cathyrussell888@msn.com
Treasurer Ted Mackie 454.2128 pacpalted@earthlink.net

Advisors, (non-voting)

Legal Counsel Ron Dean 459.1636 rdean@74erisa.com
Advisor-Transportation Patti Post 230.4477 postpost@aol.com
Advisor-Environment Protection Marie Steckmest 459.8318 harty3@gmail.com
Advisor-Disaster Prepardness Flo Elfant 454.5775 mamaflo2007@gmail.com
to Chair
Kurt Toppel 454.8060 ktoppel@aol.com

Area Representatives

Area 1  Barbara Kohn 454.8185 barbara@kohn.com
    Alternate Norma Spak 454.2677 zjhayley@verizon.net
Area 2 
Paul Glasgall
255.5462 (o)
 877.4872 (h)
    Alternate Steve Cron 451.9888 smcron@aol.com
Area 3  Jennifer Malaret 773.7881 malaret5@me.com
    1st Alternate Christy Dennis 454.2824 christyadennis@aol.com
    2nd Alternate Jim Rea 424.354.0790 jarea@kw.com
Area 4  Harry Sondheim 454.4667 hbsondheim@verizon.net
    1st Alternate Robert Baker 459.2454 baker@molbio.usc.edu
    2nd Alternate Clifford Nelson 454.1939 cnnelson@earthlink.net
Area 5  Jack Allen 454.2712 uclajack@verizon.net
Area 6  Stuart Muller 459.9700 smuller@earthlink.net
    Alternate Mary Cole 459.8373 marymcole@aol.com
Area 7 Peter Fisher 779.6901 peter.fisher@transamerica.com
    1st Alternate Steve Boyers 463.5990 srboyers@gmail.com
    2nd Alternate Kathy Rolle 686.6250 knodel@usc.edu
Area 8
Marguerite Perkins
454.3422 marguerite@roadrunner.com
    1st Alternate Mahtab Moayedi 753.8987 mmoayedi@verizon.net
    2nd Alternate Andrew Wolfberg 829.7993 x2 andrew@wolfberglaw.com.net
At-Large Representative George Wolfberg
454.4448 g.wolfberg@verizon.net
    1st Alternate Quentin Fleming 454.0554 qfleming@aol.com
    2nd Alternate James Schloss 430.2183 jrschloss@earthlink.net.com

Area Boundaries

  • Area 1 - Pacific View Estates, Castellammare, Paseo Miramar, and Sunset Blvd. addresses from PCH to Palisades Drive

  • Area 2 - Palisades Highlands and Palisades Drive to Sunset Blvd.

  • Area 3 - Marquez Knolls and Bel Air Bay Club area, north and south of Sunset from east of Palisades Drive to and including Bienveneda

  • Area 4 - North and south of Sunset from east of Bienveneda to Temescal Canyon

  • Area 5 - Alphabet Streets, north of Sunset from east of Temescal Canyon to and including upper Rivas Canyon

  • Area 6 - Via Mesa, Huntington Palisades, south of Sunset from Temescal Canyon to and including Chautauqua Blvd.

  • Area 7 - Rustic, Santa Monica, and lower Rivas Canyons, and the Will Rogers area

  • Area 8 - Riviera section, and south of Sunset to Allenford, and Paul Revere Middle School

The official and precise definition of area boundaries may be found in
Appendix "B" of the Council Bylaws.

Organizational Representatives

I. Business &

Joyce Brunelle
Chamber of Commerce
459.7963 joyce@solarsuntricity.com
      Alternate Nicole Howard 459.7963 Nicole@thisweekinpalisades.com
II. Culture, Ethics,
Amy Kalp
Friends of the Library
890.2668 akalp@roadrunner.com
Barbara Marinacci
Garden Club
459.0190 barbara.marinacci@verizon.net
III. Education Open - -
IV. Historian
Chickie Jensen
Historical Society
454.7811 chickiejens@aol.com
      Alternate June Payne 454.1685 junepay@verizon.net
      Alternate Richard Wulliger 459.3536 wulliger2@verizon.net
V. Civic
Carl Mellinger
 Civic League
459.9211 Ginkgoone@aol.com
Geoff Shelden
230.3780 ghshelden@prula.com
VI. Recreation Adine Foreman
- ayso@gmail.com
       Alternate Carol Pfannkuche
454.5591 carolpfannkuche@ymcala.org
VII. Environment  Gil Dembo,
 Temescal Canyon
454.7885 justbd@verizon.net
       Alternate  Susan Orenstein 459.1302 susan@susanorenstein.com
VIII. Sevice Clubs Trish Bowe
Women's Club
454.0349 trish@trishbowe.com
     Alternate Gordon Wong
Lion's Club
454.6000 trish@trishbowe.com
IX. Residents
 Chris Spitz
 Pacific Palisades
 Residents Association
721.0532 ppfriends3@hotmail.com
       Alternate  Karyn Weber 230.7881 Karyn_robert@hotmail.com
X. Youth
Aurelia Friedman 459.2085 ally329@verizon.net.com
Katie Takakjian
Junior Palihi
454.4138 pinbalwizardess@aim.com

Community Council Chairs

1973Robert Abernethy
1973-75Edwin Staley
1976-78John Prough
1978-79Bob Schibel
1979-80Gloria (Stout) Johnson Nedell
1981-82Lou Barnes
1983-85Sandy Schaefer
1985-87Jim Merriman
1987-89Joan Graves
1989-90Flo Elfant
1990-92Rita Delessio
1992-94Randy Young
1994-96Lila Gordon
1996-98Shirley Haggstrom
1998-00Frank Wilson
2000-02Harry Sondheim
2002-04George Wolfberg
2004-05Norman Kulla
2005-06Kurt Toppel
2006-08Steven Boyers
2008-10Richard G. Cohen
2010-11Janet Turner

R e t u r n